Flash Magic Forum

In-System Programming Support => General => Topic started by: aguiarw on January 14, 2005, 06:06:10 am

Title: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: aguiarw on January 14, 2005, 06:06:10 am
Where to found circuit ISP for Flash Magic working really?
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: varun on January 16, 2005, 01:45:05 am
twell me also
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: varun on January 16, 2005, 02:09:21 am
tell me also
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: erikm on January 17, 2005, 05:46:49 am
whith which chip?

Erik
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: OmarE on January 17, 2005, 07:47:38 am
I have developed some boards that work perfectly with Flas Magic.
I do recommend use this powerful program.
For the series P89C51XXX and P896XXX I have a board
and for the recently chips, the more worderful series P89LPC, I have also other.
The advantage is that you program it using a cheeper chip as a master o zipper, the LPC922 intead of LPC 932.  You can also use it as working board.

you can e-mail me back at oespinos@eeppm.com.  I do not make profit for that, my intention is to help others.
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: obijam on January 18, 2005, 09:05:56 pm
A circuit or detail for programing 89V51RD2 is required , some of us can definetly post a write up on this


thanks in advance
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: erikm on January 19, 2005, 04:28:11 am
<>>A circuit or detail for programing 89V51RD2 is required <<  

OK here it is

connect your PC to the MAX232(equivalent) on your board, start FlashMagic, reset the chip briefly.

Erik
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: konstantin on January 19, 2005, 11:44:37 pm
"connect your PC to the MAX232(equivalent) on your board, start FlashMagic, reset the chip briefly."

what connect  RST - DTR?

Konstantin
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: sandeep on February 01, 2005, 07:01:28 am
hi..

 i am in need of a programming circuit schematic ( well labelled) to program P889C51RD2BN chip using Flash Magic. Please help me as soon as possible...my project is stuck up due to this problem.

thankz in advance...
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: erikm on February 01, 2005, 09:22:57 am
>>>I am in need of a programming circuit schematic ( well labelled) to program P889C51RD2BN chip using Flash Magic<<<___   THERE IS NO SUCH THING.  That is why it is called ISP (In System Programming). Have you even looked at AN461.  If you can not figure out what you ask for you should not be playing with this stuff.

If you have got something that just does not work describe it and ask.

Erik
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: sandeep on February 08, 2005, 06:33:19 am
hey erik...

 i have read an461.....is the circuit given there sufficent ???? or some more additions may be needed.
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: erikm on February 09, 2005, 05:08:35 am
<><>i have read an461.....is the circuit given there sufficent ???? or some more additions may be needed.<<<

Of course Philips keep secrets from it's customers, it would be no fun otherwise.  THINK!!! would Philips withold information so you could not use their chips?

There is, of course the possibility of an error, thus it is essential always - whatever chip you use - to read the errata

Erik

Erik
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: sandeep on February 09, 2005, 05:45:26 am
Hi erik
 I have implemented the circuit given in AN 461, but when i try to read the Flash Memory, i always get the message -"Unable to connect at the specified baud rate. Try reducing the baud rate. Reset the hardware into ISP mode again." I have tried to implement this circuit 4 times, but every time i get the same problem. I am not able to program the chip....i get the message for all the operations.

Plz help...my project is stuck up because of it.

Sandeep
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: Andy Ayre on February 09, 2005, 06:24:48 am
If you read the Flash Magic application note "what to do when ISP does not work", it will guide you through debugging your circuit.

You can get it from the Flash Magic web page.

Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: sandeep on February 09, 2005, 09:20:42 am
i have a problem andrew....the circuit in AN461 shows two squares at pins 7 and 9 of MAX232, and another square at the location below the microcontroller where the NORMAL and ISP switch has been shown. What do these squares mean ??
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: sandeep on February 09, 2005, 09:22:04 am
another query is that do we need to use the circuit in the BOX for 89C51RD2BN chip ??
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: erikm on February 09, 2005, 12:57:11 pm
i have a problem andrew....the circuit in AN461 shows two squares at pins 7 and 9 of MAX232, and another square at the location below the microcontroller where the NORMAL and ISP switch has been shown. What do these squares mean ??
Nothing yes NOTHING connected here

another query is that do we need to use the circuit in the BOX for 89C51RD2BN chip ??

you can forget the 5V to 12V circuit unless you need very high speed programming.  Just connect Vpp to +5V

Erik
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: Arch Yap on February 17, 2005, 11:45:56 pm
i'v faced the similiar problems with 89C51RB2, and i've follow the same instruction as belows;-

a)  PSEN held low with R 2k Ohm
b)  P2.6 or P2.7 are high or floating
c)  ALE is high or floating

and i've check the signal from scope, and the char "U" is seen at the RXD of the MCU, but not signal is out from TXD signal.  

i'm need your help to overcome this or any reference circuit that i can refer ??? TQ

Erik, Pls e-mail me if you do !!
Title: Re: Hardware ISP for Flash magic?
Post by: erikm on February 18, 2005, 05:00:27 am
>>i'm need your help to overcome this or any reference circuit that i can refer ??? TQ

Erik, Pls e-mail me if you do !!<<

Why should I e-mail you and keep the answer secret from other participants in this forum?

My guess is that you have lost the reset vector by using RC reset.
The only remedy there is parallel programming.

Install NoTouch (and "the backdoor") in factory fresh chips and with every bupdate and this will never happen again.

Erik