Flash Magic Forum

In-System Programming Support => P89C51Rx+/P89C51Rx2/P89C66x/P89C6xX2/P89V66x => Topic started by: Kiran on January 02, 2004, 01:12:41 am

Title: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Kiran on January 02, 2004, 01:12:41 am
Hi All,
 I am FashMagic to program P89C51RD2BA. The problem I am facing is that once programmed, if i tried to program it once again, FlashMagic not ables to get conected with it. So once programmed , it is working as OTP.
  Is there any solution for this ?

Thanking you

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Andy Ayre on January 05, 2004, 03:57:09 am
Go through the steps in the application note on the Flash Magic web page titled what to do if ISP does not work. Let me know the results.

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Kiran on January 13, 2004, 01:45:51 am
Andrew Ayre wrote:

> Go through the steps in the application note on the Flash Magic
> web page titled what to do if ISP does not work. Let me know
> the results.
>
>

Hi Andrew,
 I gone through all the steps given in application note 4. But it didn't worked, so at last I used Flash Magic in debug mode & got "flashmagic.fmd" generated. I have send this file & additional information on "info@esacademy". How I should send this file in this forum ?

TIA

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Andy Ayre on January 13, 2004, 07:56:45 am
The correct place to send the debug files is to the support address rather than the info address. If you can resend it that will help speed things up.

There is currently no option to send files to or from this forum.

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Brian on January 14, 2004, 05:56:32 am
The 89C51RD2BA will work with Flash Magic if you add the work around in figure 2 on the Errata sheet.

http://www.semiconductors.philips.com/acrobat/other/mcu/es_89c51rx2_01_090402.pdf

It is a simple RC network that delays PSEN going low for ~ 10us.
I actually used a 10K ohm resistor and a 10uF cap. which gave about a 1ms delay....way long than needed but it works great.

And this delay will have no effect on programming 89C51RD2HBAs.

Good Luck,
Brian

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Kiran on January 14, 2004, 09:20:06 pm
Hi Brian,
 Thankx for reply. It's not that I am not able to program P89C52RD2BA, I am getting problem while reprogramming it. When I tried to reprogram it, I am getting connection errors.
 Have you tried reprogramming P89CRD2BA ?

Thankx
Kiran

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Brian on January 15, 2004, 04:20:47 am
Kiran,

Yes, I could reprogram them.  But only with the RC delay added.

The funny thing is you can program the chips without the delay ONCE, and only once.  After that, you must use the delay or you will not be able to connect.

With the delay added, you can program the first time and every time.  And it doesn't effect the older 89C51RD2Hxx chips either.

Brian
ESI Electronic Products Corp.
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: erik malund on January 15, 2004, 04:51:20 am
The funny thing is you can program the chips without the delay ONCE, and only once

If you on that once occasion install NoTouch with working code or the emergency out while developing you will not have that problem.  Both can be fornd at

http://www.8052.com/users/erikm/

WARNING:  both are for P89C66x and the H versions of the P89C51Rx2, they may and may not work for the nonH versions, please check.

Erik
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Andy Ayre on January 15, 2004, 06:37:04 am
Brian,

The reason for that is because the devices come from the factory with the status byte set. So on power up they enter ISP mode regardless of the hardware entry conditions.

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Gautam Morey on January 17, 2004, 02:24:31 am
Dear Andy,
I had posted the same problem earlier and am pretty used to the usual replies.Elsewhere in the forum the same problem has been met by many other individuals and all of them are RD2BA specific ( or atleast RD2BN).
Unfortunately I have tried everything ... even the "last resort".
No offence meant Andy but the first 3 replies you give are something you have specified in the documentation available. Most users have tried all of them already and want your expertise to go beyond them.
I am still waiting for the BA to work and have switched on to other things.
Gautam Morey
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Gautam Morey on January 17, 2004, 02:27:06 am
Dear Andy,
I had posted the same problem earlier and am pretty used to the usual replies.Elsewhere in the forum the same problem has been met by many other individuals and all of them are RD2BA specific ( or atleast RD2BN).
Unfortunately I have tried everything ... even the "last resort".
No offence meant Andy but the first 3 replies you give are something you have specified in the documentation available. Most users have tried all of them already and want your expertise to go beyond them.
I am still waiting for the BA to work and have switched on to other things.
Gautam Morey
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Andy Ayre on January 17, 2004, 09:39:24 am
If anyone has outstanding problems they are experiencing then they should contact me for free support with Flash Magic.

Usually I respond with suggestions or next steps to try as a process of elimination. In my last Email to you I gave you some steps to eliminate Flash Magic from the problem so we could take it from there, but I haven't heard back yet. If you would like to respond to my last Email then we can continue to narrow the problem down further.

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Andy Ayre on January 17, 2004, 09:41:51 am
Note that the most common problem is that Flash Magic won't communicate with the device. The reason for this can vary greatly as there are a large number of variables that can change. For example, insufficient supply voltage to the device to a faulty PC COM port. Therefore there is a need to take logical steps to narrow the cause down.

I hope this helps.

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Bob Bailey on January 22, 2004, 11:05:22 pm
I have a problem, similar to these.

I added a 40 pin ZIF socket to a WIN-ISP board and use it as my programmer with FlashMagic.  I have problems entering boot mode on the very first time (brand new IC).  I have a backup boot mode similar to eric's solution, so as long as I can get my stuff loaded, I can always get back to boot.

Sometimes it takes several power cycles with PSEN low and a couple presses of the reset button to get the chip into boot mode.

I am currently using P89C51RC2BN/01, with plans to move up to the RD2 part, so I would like to get this fixed......

P2.6 and P2.7 are floating, also.

Any ideas on things to check or try... eric?  Andy?
Is there a support guy at Philips that might lend a hand?

Thanks guys!

Bob
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: erik malund on January 23, 2004, 04:39:26 am
did yoo note the "capacitor on PSEN' in the documentation?
since the chips come in boot mode have you tried just to start programming without the 'funny pin levels'

Erik
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Bob Bailey on January 23, 2004, 07:29:22 pm
I have tried the capacitor on PSEN,  the chips are still reluctant to enter boot mode when reprogramming.  I can use some 'reboot' routines, inspired by your stuff but different, for reprogramming.

The issue I am speaking of is that **new** chips give me the FlashMagic error message, indicating (I believe) that they never entered boot mode.

If I reset them with PSEN low, I can convince them to enter boot mode.
sometimes it takes an extra reset pulse (pushbutton) or some other button sequence.

I am building a device with no PSEN hardware, and want to ISP it with the initial program, and use the 'reboot' feature for software update.

Perhaps my problem is a flaky reset (RC, I know) or user error with FlashMagic.

I was hoping that someone else had experienced this.

Thanks for your help, Eric.  Does the above clarify my earlier post?
(a tech-writer I am not.)

Regards,
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Bob Bailey on January 23, 2004, 11:13:22 pm
I just changed the crystal on my WinISP board from 22.1184 to 11.0592

It seems to work much better,  in fact I have not been able to get it to fail.


Time will tell.  Perhaps the 22mhz crystal was out of spec, or weak......

Regards,  

Bob
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: erik malund on January 27, 2004, 06:04:53 am
I just changed the crystal on my WinISP board from 22.1184 to 11.0592
The 6 clock mode is specified only to 20MHz, maybe something here?

Erik
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: bob bailey on January 28, 2004, 10:17:36 pm
I was thinking the autobaud routines didn't work well that high....

Or, I had FlashMagic set to 22, not 22.1184....... that might be it.

It seems to work now,  thanks for the input.

BTW, I think I mentioned on 8052.com,  my REBOOT routine is very similar to your NoTouch stuff but doesn't reset the Status Byte.  It just triggers the ISP mode.  That way if the mode is triggered accidentally the system will recover with just a reset.  Thanks for the inspiration!

Oh, and what gotchas am I going to face using an RC reset.  You mention it often, but  I didn't turn up any threads with the search function.  Is there a good+cheap 3-terminal (TO92) supervisor chip that you like?  

Regards,

Bob
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: erik malund on January 29, 2004, 04:50:20 am
Is there a good+cheap 3-terminal (TO92) supervisor chip that you like?
I use the MAX810.  A funny thing about this MAXim chip is that it is usually easier to get form Philips than Maxim.

Erik
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: bob bailey on January 29, 2004, 11:52:08 am
thanks

Bob
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Kench on February 13, 2004, 07:01:28 pm
Dear ALL,
     I have meet the same problem that can program the P89C51RD2BB only once. The Flashmagic display connect error when i try to reprogram the P89C51RD2BB.
     I have do the ternimal test.The result is "the 'U' is arriving at the RxD,but no 'U' leaving the TxD".
     HELP ME!!!
Thks!
kenchbob bailey wrote:

> thanks
>
> Bob
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Kench on February 13, 2004, 08:44:32 pm
Add the RC at the PSEN can slove the problem.

thank everybody!!!
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Santhi Karthikeyan on February 26, 2004, 12:09:04 am
We have the same problem with our board with RD2BA . We have tried all the solutions suggested above but the chip is not getting reprogrammed. I have Eric's boot loader also in the first software fused in the device. But nothing seems to make the chip enter ISP. Delayed PSEN as suggested with resistor- capacitor also is of no help. However I have seen 2 or 3 other RD2BA devices working smoothly. This first sample for production is now stuck with the problem. Immediate help/ suggestions in this regard shall be helpful. I have tried Flash Magic and Win ISP also.
Thanks in advance

Santhi
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: pra_mulay on February 26, 2004, 03:09:17 am
Hello,

while erasing, slect hex block erase only.

this change will make you clock mode as otp.

thanks
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Andy Ayre on February 27, 2004, 08:52:19 am
Santhi - I would look at the VCC voltage to the non-functional device to make sure it is stable and glitch free. Also check the signal at the XTAL pins and make sure it is stable and the expected frequency. Glitches on the power supply can cause problems for the crystal and stop the device from functioning properly.

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: venugopal on March 21, 2004, 10:53:22 pm
What are the settings for 89c51RD2ba to function like 89c51RD2HBA  by using ISP programming.
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Andy Ayre on March 22, 2004, 06:33:15 am
The RD2BA cannot function like an RD2HBA because the flash block size is different, therefore different commands are required. Just make sure you select the correct device in Flash Magic.

Title: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Venugopal on March 25, 2004, 03:06:45 am
The chip is being programmed and once it is plugged into the target board only the ports are working and nothing is working like memory access,lcd etc. are not working including the RS232 port.  

thanks
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: chander_k@epatra.com on April 07, 2004, 05:47:40 am
Errors faced while uploading the file through FLASH MAGIC
1.
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: erikm on April 07, 2004, 09:55:32 am
>>The chip is being programmed and once it is plugged into the target board only the ports are working and nothing is working like memory access,lcd etc. are not working including the RS232 port.<<

Did you take care of the other differences (variable timer clocking etc)?

Erik
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Andy Ayre on April 09, 2004, 09:56:44 am
Chander - did you implement the reset workaround on the errata sheet for the P89C51Rx2?

Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: KE NG on July 13, 2005, 04:51:27 am
I had a program which download though FLASH MAGIC into P89C51RD2BA
since that everything is fine or loaded into FLASH RAM.

But the program doesn't work.

The same Hex code I was load to Other device P89C52UB is working fine.

Any suggestion?

Thank
KE NG
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: erikm on July 13, 2005, 05:10:56 am
did you:
run at the same clocking (12)
change the SFR addresses to match the different derivative
verify that your doenload procedure works

Erik
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: Jan Waclawek on July 13, 2005, 05:22:34 am
Is the status byte clear (if not, it enters ISP rather than user program).
Is the PSEN floating? (if tied low, it enters ISP rather than user program).

Jan Waclawek
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BN
Post by: JASMI on September 01, 2005, 02:51:58 am
PLZ GET ME ERRATASHEET OF 89C51RD2BN
Title: Re: problems with P89C51RD2BA
Post by: erikm on September 01, 2005, 05:52:09 am
PLZ GET ME ERRATASHEET OF 89C51RD2BN

1) you SHOUT, 2 you use Stupid Monkey **** (PLZ) so why would anyone feel like helping you?

Erik