Possible Bug/Overlooked-Problem burning an 89V51RD2.

Started by Jacob, March 25, 2009, 10:04:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jacob

Hi There!

Im an EE college student, and have been successfully using the 89V51RD2 along with FM for the last two years.
My project this year uses the 89v51's UART, so ive started experimenting with it to figure it out.

Basically, I wrote a program that transmits the same byte in infinte loop. I Checked it with a scope, worked as expected and everything, and then when I wanted to write a new program to the chip I got the classic "Unable to connect at the specified baud rate. Try reducing the baud rate. Reset the hardware into ISP mode again."
My circuit seemed to be working fine so eventually I turned to manual resets. It took a few tries (given the small 400ms delay) but at some point I managed to get FM to write a different program to the chip.

I was still curious though, so I played around with this a bit...
On a few occasions I even got the un-common "Failed to read the device signature (Operation Failed. (reading sigature)). Accessing a device using the wrong protocol could render the device unusable. Do you want to continue?"

Anyway, i wrote the following program:
                 MOV TMOD,#00100000B
    MOV TL1,#-15
    MOV TH1,#-15
    SETB TR1
    MOV SCON,#01000000B
    MOV DPTR,#0F000H ; this external address is connected to a switch
    MOV R7,#0A0H
LOOP:    MOV SBUF,R7
    JNB TI,$
    CLR TI
CHK:    MOVX A,@DPTR
    CJNE A,#1,LOOP
    SJMP CHK   

Anyhow, various tests all pointed at the same suspect, the UART.
I dont think its my reset circuit, since the chips pin no.9 definitely got a positive signal for a decent amount of time.

My teacher couldnt explain it so he recommended that I come here, and here I am.

I was wondering, is this is a common problem, or was I doing something wrong? Not utilizing some feature of FM?

thanks in advance,
                                      Jacob

Andy Ayre