Author Topic: 89V51RD2  (Read 75801 times)

Jan Waclawek

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • EFTON homepage
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #60 on: May 03, 2005, 07:14:13 am »
Sud wrote:
>  Can I replace the "C" version with "V" version
> without any software or hardware changes?

Generally, not.
For example, in the "C" you can set the 6-clock mode from software (and you can set the core speed 6-clk while the peripherals 12-clk), while in the "V" you can set the speed to 6-clk only by programming.
An another example, if you are using the IAP, the "C" has a different set of commands and a different way how to approach the IAP routines than the "V".
But in other respects the chips are quite similar, so it really depends on your particular application, whether the "C" can be replaced by the "V" with no changes or not.

Jan Waclawek

flyingshark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #61 on: May 08, 2005, 04:01:51 am »
Dear sir.

   I alway can't connect to the p89v51rd2,it display "reset device into ISP mode now"with red color,i press the button of "RESET" to reset 89v51rd2,here nothing happened,why?i try 11.0592mhz and 12mhz,and set the baud rate with different value,the chip is a new onewithout any operation.i connect the cable's RXD(2) to a MAX232 in 14 pin,TXD(3) in 13 pin,and the MAX232's 12 pin connect to p89v51rd2's RXD(P3.0),and 11 pin to TXD(P3.1).
 Please give me some idea.

 Thanks.

Andy Ayre

  • ESAcademy Staff
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2167
    • View Profile
    • Embedded Systems Academy, Inc.
    • Email
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #62 on: May 08, 2005, 01:26:36 pm »
When you click on start a window should pop up telling you to reset the device, along with a Cancel button. Are you seeing this? If not then you do not have the correct device selected in Flash Magic. The 89C51Rx2 devices are not the same as the 89V51Rx2 devices. If you have tried to program the V device with the C device selected, then your V device is probably now stuck in SoftICE mode. Not sure how you get it out of that mode.

Embedded Systems Academy, Inc.
support at esacademy dot com

Jan Waclawek

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • EFTON homepage
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #63 on: May 08, 2005, 02:57:26 pm »
To test if P89V51RD2 in in SoftICE mode: get a terminal emulator program capable of sending non-ascii characters (e.g. term by Bray, use google); then reset the mcu and send 11h characters (at some reasonable speed, e.g. 9600baud, 8N1, no handshake). If the mcu responds with alternating 00h and FFh, you are in SoftICE mode.

To get rid of SoftICE mode:
http://www.efton.sk/t0t1/unsoftice.htm

Hope this helps a bit.

Jan Waclawek

flyingshark

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #64 on: May 11, 2005, 08:25:19 pm »
Dear sir.

  Thanks for yours answer.

  Now i change a chip and get in connection.i read the device signature,it return "manufacture id :BF".i remeber that the PHILIPS product id maybe
15,it is correct i get ?

Jan Waclawek

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • EFTON homepage
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #65 on: May 12, 2005, 12:32:31 am »
Yes, the P89V51RD2 returns BFh as manufacturer ID and 91h as device ID.
This might have something to do with the remarkable similarity between this part and certain SST parts...

Jan Waclawek

V51

  • Guest
89V51RD2
« Reply #66 on: June 06, 2005, 05:41:50 am »
i've got 50 pcs of 89v51rd2 to program using isp. i find that i got a failure rate of almost 20%.
i don't understand why some was able to program successfully and others don't.
all of them should work the same, right?

Andy Ayre

  • ESAcademy Staff
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2167
    • View Profile
    • Embedded Systems Academy, Inc.
    • Email
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #67 on: June 06, 2005, 08:53:26 am »
In what way are the devices failing? Does lowering the baud rate help? It sounds like something is marginal.

Embedded Systems Academy, Inc.
support at esacademy dot com

V51

  • Guest
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #68 on: June 06, 2005, 06:21:28 pm »
I tried lowering the baud rate, but only a few worked this way. I even tried programming those which were successful the first time, and some couldn't even engage in isp mode.
i've check the RxD pin, there's 'U' received, but the V51 just did not respond.
i'm confused, if it works on some, then all should respond the same way.
The PCBs are manufacured the same way.
Can you recommend a parallel programmer?

Andy Ayre

  • ESAcademy Staff
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2167
    • View Profile
    • Embedded Systems Academy, Inc.
    • Email
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #69 on: June 06, 2005, 09:40:28 pm »
What crystal frequency are you using? The higher the frequency, the less time there is after reset for the device to receive a 'U' to enter ISP mode.

I don't know which parallel programmers support these devices. Sorry.

Embedded Systems Academy, Inc.
support at esacademy dot com

Andy Ayre

  • ESAcademy Staff
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2167
    • View Profile
    • Embedded Systems Academy, Inc.
    • Email
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #70 on: June 06, 2005, 09:41:59 pm »
If a voltage on one of the pins, for example VCC, is almost near a limit, then the solder joints or resistor tolerances, etc. could vary the performance of the hardware in a production run. Check all voltages at the microcontroller pins are within limits, free from glitches and ripples, etc. Check the signals on the XTAL pins are glitch free, etc.

Embedded Systems Academy, Inc.
support at esacademy dot com

ken

  • Guest
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #71 on: June 15, 2005, 08:39:44 pm »
hi, i'm using a P89V51RD2FBC, from what i know, this device has only this way to go into ISP:-

during a power up or reset, this device will tempt to autobaud, after 400ms of autobaud failure, user code will be executed......

but when i float the pin PSEN, i cant get into ISP, can i know what is wrong???

Jan Waclawek

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
    • EFTON homepage
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #72 on: June 16, 2005, 01:54:45 am »
> but when i float the pin PSEN, i cant get into ISP

PSEN should be left floating.

Have you tried everything from
http://www.esacademy.com/software/flashmagic/appnotes/ISPProblemsAppNote.pdf
?


Jan Waclawek

ken

  • Guest
Re: 89V51RD2
« Reply #73 on: June 16, 2005, 07:35:35 pm »
thanks Jan, thanks for giving me a reply.

actually i have no problem to enter into ISP mode, by pulling PSEN pin to ground, but when i try to let this pin float, i cant enter ISP mode anymore, FM will prompt me a message "transmit/receive fail"......

ikram

  • Guest
In Circuit Emulation for 89V51RD2
« Reply #74 on: June 18, 2005, 09:53:40 pm »
Respected Sir,

I am working on P89V51RD2. Is there any circuit or software by which i can emulate my controller in circuit. please semd me your answer.

thanking you

best regards

ikram.